Through GW’s physics program, you can study the fundamental laws discovered in physics and see how they apply to all the sciences and the world in which we live. Physics is part of the natural, mathematical and biomedical sciences discipline in the Columbian College of Arts and Sciences. Through courses ranging from classical mechanics to electromagnetic theory, the physics program aims to strengthen students’ abilities to use mathematical logic, deductive reasoning, developed intuition and careful observation.

Professors L.C. Maximon (Research), W.J. Briscoe, M.E. Reeves, I. Strakovsky (Research), A.K. Opper (Chair), G. Feldman, F.X. Lee, A. Eskandarian, C. Zeng

Associate Professors H. Haberzettl, K.S. Dhuga, R.L. Workman (Research), W. Peng, H. Griesshammer, A. Afanasev

Assistant Professors A. Alexandru, X. Qiu, E.J. Downie, B.C. Kung, R. Teodorescu (Teaching), A. Corsi, O. Kargaltsev, G. Lan, M. Dӧring

Professorial Lecturers J.T. Broach, M.F. Corcoran, C. O’Donnell, A. Moscati, L. Medsker, I. Moskowitz

Explanation of Course Numbers

  • Courses in the 1000s are primarily introductory undergraduate courses
  • Those in the 2000–4000s are upper-division undergraduate courses that can also be taken for graduate credit with permission and additional work
  • Those in the 6000s and 8000s are for master’s, doctoral, and professional-level students
  • The 6000s are open to advanced undergraduate students with approval of the instructor and the dean or advising office

Departmental prerequisite: Consent of a departmental graduate advisor is required for admission to all graduate courses in physics.